Book Review: Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy @lainitaylor #amreading #book #bookblogger #bookblog #bookreview

A long overdue review of Laini Taylor’s ‘Daughter of Smoke and Bone’ Trilogy.

Book 1: Daughter of Smoke and Bone (2012)

Book 2: Days of Blood and Starlight (2013)

Book 3: Dreams of Gods and Monsters (2015)

Published by Hodder.

Karou is the 17 year heroine of these books. She had somewhat of an unconventional upbringing, spending half of her time as a student in Prague and the other half in another world with a monster-like character called Brimstone; the closest thing to family she has.

This magical fantasy takes the age old tale of good vs evil and gives it an original twist. Despite the element of fantasy, Karou is a believable, refreshing heroine who is stuck in the middle of epic battles between those she is closest to. It’s a story of struggle, passion and hope and I was gutted when I came to the end!

I can’t rave about this trilogy enough. It’s packed with mesmerising characters and intricate plot lines.

As an aspiring author, I have seen lots of advice telling me to ‘write the book you want to read.’ Well this is it, so I’m back to square one!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s